4th CDGA Mid-Amateur Championship

John Ehrgott won his second CDGA Mid-Amateur crown Thursday at Hinsdale Golf Club

4th CDGA Mid-Amateur Championship
May 21-24 • Hinsdale Golf Club (Clarendon Hills)

Day Four: Thursday, May 24


CLARENDON HILLS, Ill. - For the second time in the four-year history of the CDGA Mid-Amateur Championship, John Ehrgott (Edwards / Mt. Hawley CC) is its champion, as he bested Blake Johnson (Winnetka / Glen View Club) 3 and 2 in the title match Thursday morning at Hinsdale Golf Club.

Ehrgott also won the inaugural CDGA Mid-Am in 2015 and is a two-time Illinois State Mid-Amateur victor, with those triumphs coming in 2007 and 2009. His four overall titles in the state's two most prominent individual mid-amateur events is second only to Bloomington's Todd Mitchell, who has five Illinois State Mid-Amateur victories, but has never won the CDGA Mid-Am.

“It's validation,” Ehrgott said after hoisting another trophy. “You get older, I'm 43 now, and you see the young kids coming up that are hitting it 300, 310 yards, and us old guys don't do that. It's nice to still be able to be competitive and win an event occasionally.”

Related Links: (Full Recap) / (Match Play Tree) / (Photo Gallery)

Day Three: Wednesday, May 23


CLARENDON HILLS, Ill. - Three years ago at Bowes Creek Country Club, John Ehrgott (Edwards / Mt. Hawley CC) defeated Blake Johnson (Winnetka / The Glen Club) in the quarterfinals en route to victory at the inaugural CDGA Mid-Amateur Championship. On Thursday, they'll square off for the title, as both individuals emerged victorious in quarterfinal and semifinal matches Wednesday at Hinsdale Golf Club.

“Oh, Blake wants revenge,” Ehrgott said with a chuckle. “I remember it was a really good match. It was real back-and-forth.”

Related Links: (Full Recap) / (Match Play Tree)

9) Blake Johnson def. 5) John Wright, 2 up
14) John Ehrgott def. 10) Grant Goltz, 1 up

9) Blake Johnson def. 16) Mike King, 3 and 2
5) John Wright def. 4) Jeff Niepagen, 6 and 5
10) Grant Goltz def. 15) Glenn Przybylski, 2 and 1
14) John Ehrgott def. 11) K.C. Matkaitis, 2 and 1

Day Two: Tuesday, May 22


CLARENDON HILLS, Ill. - After five May tournament days were postponed due to weather, the 2018 CDGA championship slate finally kicked off Tuesday with the 4th CDGA Mid-Amateur Championship at Hinsdale Golf Club. The entire 25-and-older field played 18 holes of stroke play before the low 16 contested the first round of matches.

Related Links: (Match Play Tree) / (Stroke Play Results)

Match Play

Upsets were abound in the Round of 16, as each of the top three seeds were defeated by individuals who survived a 12-for-3 playoff to make match play. Stoke play medalist Cully Johnston (Berwyn / Chicago Park District) was ousted by Mike King (La Grange / CDGA Member's Club) 4 and 3, while No. 2 seed Mike Henry (Bloomington / Weibring GC at ISU) fell to Glenn Przybylski (Frankfort / Sanctuary GC) in 20 holes. John Ehrgott (Edwards / Mt. Hawley CC), winner of the inaugural CDGA Mid-Am in 2015, bested No. 3 seed and reigning Illinois State Mid-Amateur champion Greg Bauman (Chicago / Biltmore CC) 3 and 2.

Among the others advancing to the quarterfinals was No. 9-seed Blake Johnson (Winnetka / Glen View Club), who defeated 2017 CDGA Am runner up Brian Hickey (Burr Ridge / Edgewood Valley CC) 2 and 1. Johnson finished runner up in the last CDGA championship to be held at Hinsdale, the 2014 CDGA Amateur.

The eight quarterfinalists will tee off Wednesday morning beginning at 8 a.m. The two semifinal matches will occur Wednesday afternoon.

Stroke Play

Cully Johnston (Berwyn / Chicago Park District) fired a 4-under 67 on Tuesday morning to earn medalist honors, joining 15 others in earning match play spots in the 4th CDGA Mid-Amateur Championship at Hinsdale Golf Club.

Johnston carded six birdies en route to the top seed, finishing one shot clear of Mike Henry (Bloomington / Weibring GC at ISU) and two shots ahead of Greg Bauman (Chicago / Biltmore CC).

Following the conclusion of 18 holes, three match play spots were still up for grabs amongst a group of 12 golfers who posted 2-over 73s. John Ehrgott (Edwards / Mt. Hawley CC) and Glenn Przybylski (Frankfort / Sanctuary GC) birdied the first playoff hole to secure match play spots, with Mike King (La Grange / CDGA Member's Club) eventually emerging from the crowd to grasp the final opening.

Brian Hickey (Burr Ridge / Edgewood Valley CC), the 2017 CDGA Mid-Am runner-up, shot even par to earn the No. 8 seed. Defending champion Chadd Slutzky was forced to withdraw following the event being pushed back one day after Monday's postponement.

Day One: Monday, May 21


CLARENDON HILLS, Ill. - Due to inclement weather, the first day of play in the 4th CDGA Mid-Amateur Championship at Hinsdale Golf Club has been postponed. The championship will now begin on Tuesday morning.

With the postponement, each stage of the championship is pushed back a day. The entire 75-golfer field will play 18 holes of stroke play on Tuesday morning, with the low 16 and ties advancing to the first round of match play Tuesday afternoon. The quarterfinals will start the morning of Wednesday, May 23, with the rest of the matches occurring as time permits.



LEMONT, Ill. - One of the CDGA's newest championships is slated to be contested at one of its oldest member clubs, as the venerable Hinsdale Golf Club will host the 4th CDGA Mid-Amateur Championship, May 21-23. With the rescheduling of the CDGA Senior Amateur Championship, this event kicks off the 105th season of championships conducted by the CDGA.

A field of 75 amateurs age 25 and older will tackle Hinsdale, the site of the meeting between 25 clubs that precipitated the CDGA's 1914 founding, in a match play event.

Related Links: (Full Preview) / (Field) / (Tee Times) / (Event History)


April 30Village Greens of Woodridge (Woodridge)
May 1Balmoral Woods Country Club (Crete)

Championship Information

The CDGA Mid-Amateur Championship debuted its current format in 2015. Open to CDGA members age 25 or older, the CDGA Mid-Am features an 18-hole stroke play round to determine a 16-player match play bracket. Chadd Slutzky is the defending champion, as he prevailed in the 2017 iteration.