My CDGA Caddie

CDGA Amateur Championship

One of the oldest amateur competitions in the Midwest, the CDGA Amateur Championship was first played in 1914 at Ravisloe Country Club in Homewood. Golf great Charles “Chick” Evans, Jr. won the tournament that year. In 1935, invitations were issued nationally, and in 1941 the event became known as the Great Lakes Amateur Championship. In 1955 the CDGA board of directors decided to make the championship an association event again and to limit the field to players who were CDGA members. Currently the Championship is open to any CDGA member with a Handicap Index of 5.4 or under. Since 2003, qualifying golfers play 36 holes of stroke play on the first day of the championship. From there, 16 individuals advance to match play. The eight quarterfinalists from the previous year’s championship are exempt into the 36-hole qualifying.

YearChampionChampion's ClubHost Site
1914Charles "Chick" Evans Jr.Edgewater GCRavisloe CC (Homewood)
1915Donald EdwardsMidlothian CCGlen View Club (Golf)
1916Robert A. GardnerHinsdale GCMidlothian CC (Midlothian)
1917No event-World War I
1918No event-World War I
1919No event-World War I
1920Dewey WeberEdgewood Valley CCSkokie CC (Glencoe)
1921Raymond J. DalyFlossmoor CCMidlothian CC (Midlothian)
1922Ira L. CouchGlen View ClubOak Park CC (River Grove)
1923George Hackl, Jr.Midlothian CCIndian Hill Club (Winnetka)
1924Robert A. GardnerOnwentsia ClubFlossmoor CC (Flossmoor)
1925Robert A. GardnerOnwentsia ClubOnwentsia Club (Lake Forest)
1926Eldridge RobinsonFlossmoor CCGlen Oak CC (Glen Ellyn)
1927Jack WestlandSunset Ridge CCOlympia Fields CC (Olympia Fields)
1928Thomas J. FraineyEdgewood Valley CCBarrington Hills CC (Barrington)
1929Francis R. BlossomIndian Hill ClubExmoor CC (Highland Park)
1930Jack WestlandSunset Ridge CCCalumet CC (Homewood)
1931Jack WestlandSunset Ridge CCKnollwood Club (Lake Forest)
1932Richard MartinSunset Valley CCMedinah CC (Medinah)
1933George DawsonGlen Oak CCCalumet CC (Homewood)
1934George DawsonGlen Oak CCMedinah CC (Medinah)
1935Fred Haas Jr.ColonialOlympia Fields CC (Olympia Fields)
1936John LehmanOlympia Fields CCSunset Ridge CC (Northfield)
1937Don ArmstrongAurora CCGlen Oak CC (Glen Ellyn)
1938Arthur DoeringWestward-Ho GCMedinah CC (Medinah)
1939Wilford WehrleTam O'Shanter CCButterfield CC (Oak Brook)
1940James FerrierSydney, AustraliaRiverside GC (North Riverside)
1941Raymond BillowsDuchess G&CCKnollwood Club (Lake Forest)
1942Wilford WehrleRacine, Wis.Knollwood Club (Lake Forest)
1943No event-World War II
1944No event-World War II
1945No event-World War II
1946Frank StranahanToledo, OhioKnollwood Club (Lake Forest)
1947Frank StranahanToledo, OhioCalumet CC (Homewood)
1948John LevinsonSunset Valley CCKnollwood Club (Lake Forest)
1949Skee RiegelTulsa CCGlen Oak CC (Glen Ellyn)
1950Art HoffEdgewood Valley CCLake Shore CC (Glencoe)
1951Art HoffEdgewood Valley CCGreen Acres CC (Northbrook)
1952George VictorGlen View ClubGary CC (Gary, Ind.)
1953Robert W. ClevelandGlen Flora CCGlen Flora CC (Waukegan)
1954Thomas Brennan Jr.Ozaukee CCNorth Hills CC (Menomonee Falls, Wis.)
1955John WagnerSkokie CC Southmoor CC (Orland Park)
1956Martin StanovichTam O'Shanter CCInverness CC (Inverness)
1957Lawrence ReichGreen Acres CCOlympia Fields CC (Olympia Fields)
1958Nello CampagniSunset VAlley CCEdgewood Valley CC (La Grange)
1959Martin StanovichTam O'Shanter CCEvanston GC (Skokie)
1960Martin StanovichTam O'Shanter CCBarrington Hills CC (Barrington)
1961Remo CrovettiOrchard Hills CCMidlothian CC (Midlothian)
1962Remo CrovettiSunset Valley CCEdgewater GC (Chicago)
1963Dave HuskeGlen Oak CCFlossmoor CC (Flossmoor)
1964Jim JamiesonShort Hills CCRavisloe CC (Homewood)
1965Sherman Finger, IIIWestmoreland CCGlen Oak CC (Glen Ellyn)
1966Dave HuskeGlen Oak CCEvanston GC (Skokie)
1967Bob AugustineWhite Pines GCMidlothian CC (Midlothian)
1968Ace EllisSunset Valley CCLa Grange CC (La Grange)
1969Bob AugustineWhite Pines GCKnollwood Club (Lake Forest)
1970Bill HofferElgin CCSt. Charles CC (St. Charles)
1971Steve BensonLincolnshire CCCrystal Lake CC (Crystal Lake)
1972Richard EvansKnollwood ClubMedinah CC (Medinah)
1973Mike MilliganBloomington CCRavisloe CC (Homewood)
1974Mike MilliganBloomington CCTurnberry CC (Village of Lakewood)
1975Jim JosephRavisloe CCShoreacres (Lake Bluff)
1976Lance Ten BroeckBeverly CCMedinah CC (Medinah)
1977Mike MilliganBloomington CCOlympia Fields CC (Olympia Fields)
1978Thomas EvansKnollwood ClubKnollwood Club (Lake Forest)
1979David OgrinCog Hill G&CCButler National GC (Oak Brook)
1980David OgrinCog Hill G&CCOlympia Fields CC (Olympia Fields)
1981Rick Ten BroeckBeverly CCNaperville CC (Naperville)
1982Gunnar BennettOnwentsia ClubShoreacres (Lake Bluff)
1983Brett LucasOlympia Fields CCButterfield CC (Oak Brook)
1984Ken KellaneyOlympia Fields CCOlympia Fields CC (Olympia Fields)
1985Paul HindsleySkokie CCBarrington Hills CC (Barrington)
1986Paul HindsleySkokie CCSkokie CC (Glencoe)
1987Jim JosephRavisloe CCButler National GC (Oak Brook)
1988Joel HirschLake Shore CCBeverly CC (Chicago)
1989Tom StuderJoliet CCMidlothian CC (Midlothian)
1990Chip TravisHinsdale GCRavisloe CC (Homewood)
1991John JoycePrestwick CCMedinah CC (Medinah)
1992Colby LambersonOnwentsia ClubSkokie CC (Glencoe)
1993John ReuthPine Meadow GCMidlothian CC (Midlothian)
1994Rick Ten BroeckBeverly CCConway Farms GC (Lake Forest)
1995Jeff MathesonKemper Lakes GCStonebridge CC (Aurora)
1996John RuethPine Meadow GCTwin Orchard CC (Long Grove)
1997Mike StoneEvanston GCHinsdale GC
1998Joel HirschLake Shore CCDunes Club (New Buffalo, Mich.)
1999Chip TravisHinsdale GCLa Grange CC (La Grange)
2000Joe AffruntiCrystal Lake CCGeneva GC (Geneva)
2001Joe AffruntiCrystal Lake CCKnollwood Club (Lake Forest)
2002Mike O'NealRoyal Fox GCNorthmoor CC (Highland Park)
2003Jay DempseySkokie CCEvanston GC (Skokie)
2004Steve SawtellSkokie CCRavisloe CC (Homewood)
2005Brian CarrollCrystal Lake CCLa Grange CC (La Grange)
2006Eric MeierdierksSunset Ridge CCBeverly CC (Chicago)
2007Chad KoschmannLake Shore CCLake Shore CC (Glencoe)
2008Carlos Sainz, Jr.Highlands of ElginRiverside GC (North Riverside)
2009Steve SawtellSkokie CCOlympia Fields CC (Olympia Fields)
2010Tommy BliefnickHickory Point GCBull Valley GC (Bull Valley)
2011Kyle EnglishCrestwicke CCMedinah CC (Medinah)
2012Michael DavanHubbard Trail CCCantigny Golf (Wheaton)
2013Bryce EmoryAurora CCEdgewood Valley CC (LaGrange)
2014 Jordan Fahel Mt. Hawley CCHinsdale GC (Clarendon Hills)
2015 Alex Burge The Den at Fox Creek GCKnollwood Club (Lake Forest)
2016 Andrew Price Conway Farms GCCalumet CC (Homewood)
2017 Drake Bushong Lick Creek GCBriar Ridge CC (Schererville, Ind.)
2018 David Perkins  Quail Meadows GC Briarwood CC (Deerfield)
2019 Jordan Less  Oak Brook GC Glen View Club (Golf)
2020 No event-COVID-19   
2021 Nick Tenuta Mt. Prospect GCBull Valley GC (Woodstock)
2022 Charlie Waddell Shoreacres Glen Flora CC (Waukegan)
2023 Robert Beaubien, Jr. Biltmore CCLake Shore CC (Glencoe)
2024 Beverly CC (Chicago)
[ Back ]

Chicago District Golf Association
11855 Archer Avenue
Lemont, IL 60439