2018 CDGA Players of the Year


LEMONT, Ill. Trent Wallace is the 2018 Chicago District Golf Association (CDGA) Player of the Year, with Tim Sheppard earning the 2018 CDGA Senior Player of the Year honor. Both players took home the hardware for the first time, with Wallace earning the Charles N. Eckstein Trophy and Sheppard taking home the Raymond B. Anderson trophy.

Wallace, a 21-year-old native of Joliet, finished as runner-up in the 99th CDGA Amateur Championship to fellow Illinois State Redbird David Perkins at Briarwood Country Club in June. The two battled it out down the stretch in a rain-shortened match. Wallace maintained his solid play with a tie for fourth in the 88th Illinois State Amateur Championship at Bloomington Country Club later that month. His finish notched his third-straight top-5 finish in the state's premier amateur event.

Outside of the CDGA, Wallace earned points via a tie for seventh in the 69th Illinois Open at The Glen Club in early-August. On the national stage, Wallace teamed with Zach Burry to qualify for the 2018 U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Championship at Jupiter Hills Club in May. The duo earned the No. 2 seed before falling in the first round of match play.

As for Sheppard, a 57-year-old native of East Peoria, his season performance hung in the balance as he battled pain his left elbow. Despite the injury, Sheppard battled to a semifinal appearance in the 17th CDGA Senior Amateur Championship at Itasca Country Club in August, falling to eventual champion Brad Kay. Sheppard was then able to earn his first victory in an individual championship administered by the CDGA with his triumph in the 32nd Illinois State Senior Amateur Championship at Riverside Golf Club. He ended his season with a win alongside Tom Kearfott in the 3rd CDGA Senior Amateur Four-Ball Championship at Indian Hill Club in early-October, adding to the duo's win the inaugural edition.

Sheppard also traveled to Eugene, Ore. in August to compete in the U.S. Senior Amateur Championship, where he qualified for match play before falling in the first round of match play.

The 2018 CDGA tournament calendar featured 54 events, including 10 Illinois State or CDGA championships, 23 Illinois State or CDGA qualifiers, 20 USGA qualifiers and the Radix Cup Matches. The 2019 schedule will be released Dec. 3.

2018 CDGA Player of the Year Point Totals

1) Trent Wallace - 665
2) Logan Stauffer - 520
3) John Ehrgott - 500
4) Jordan Hahn - 475
5) Mike Henry - 470
T6) Dave Ryan - 450
T6) Andrew Price - 450
T6) David Perkins - 450
9) Grant Milling - 430
10) John Wright - 425

2018 CDGA Senior Player of the Year Point Totals

1) Tim Sheppard - 775
2) Ted Pecora - 500
3) Tom Kearfott - 480
4) Dave Ryan - 475
5) Brad Kay - 390
6) Steven Jacobs - 320
7) Mark Esposito - 240
8) Mike Karney - 235
9) John Finnin - 230
10) David Feder - 225

Related Links: (CDGA Player of the Year Points Breakdown) / (CDGA Senior Player of the Year Points Breakdown) / (CDGA Player of the Year Points System) / (CDGA Player of the Year Archive)